The FULL WORM MOON

If technology allows, today, this blog post will go live at EXACTLY 11:04 A.M. EDT, marking the start of March 2019's New Moon! In what begins a countdown to the Full Moon on March 20 at 9:43 P.M. EDT, March 06 offers us yet another opportunity to start a 'fresh new cycle', if you will. 

It is no new knowledge that the moon plays a vital role on the Earth's ability to sustain biological life; however, the benefits of knowing, appreciating and utilizing the moon's cycle and effect on our Earth has been either lost, forgotten or never passed on to others. 

Many different cultures have written their versions of the moon's relationship with the Earth, and since we are a blog focused on healthy routines, we are going to look at a reliable source of information on our moon's cycles and calendar: The Old Farmer's Almanac, founded in 1792!

Let's take a closer look at this month's moon! 

SUPER MOON ON THE SPRING EQUINOX

The March full Moon is particularly special because it reaches its peak on the same day as the spring equinox, on March 20, 2019. The last time the full Moon and the spring equinox coincided this closely (4 hours apart) was in March 2000, but the last time they occurred on the same date was on March 20, 1981!

This full Moon is also a supermoon, meaning the Moon will be nearly at its closest to Earth for the month of March. It’s the year’s third (and final) of three straight full supermoons. This means that the Moon may “appear” brighter and bigger than normal, provided the night sky is clear and dark.

 

MOON PHASES FOR MARCH 2019

(Full Moon: 9:43 p.m. EDT, 8:43 p.m. CDT, 7:43 p.m. MDT, 6:43 p.m. PDT, 5:43 p.m. AKDT and 3:43 p.m. HST.)

New Moon: March 6, 11:04 A.M. EDT
First Quarter: March 14, 6:27 A.M. EDT
Full Moon: March 20, 9:43 P.M. EDT
Last Quarter: March 28, 12:10 A.M. EDT

Note: In Universal Time/England, the full moon comes on March 21 in case you calendar reflects this.)

MARCH FULL MOON NAMES

Historically, Native American and other traditional names for full Moons were used to track the seasons. Note that each full Moon name was applied to the entire lunar month in which it occurred.

Traditionally, the Moon we see in March is called the Full Worm Moon. At this time of the year, the ground begins to soften enough for earthworm casts to reappear, inviting robins and birds to feed—a true sign of spring. Roots start to push their way up through the soil, and the Earth experiences a re-birth as it awakens from its winter slumber.

There are many alternative names for the March Moon. One name was the Full Sap Moon, as this is the time of year when the sap of sugar maples starts to flow.

MARCH FULL WORM MOON VIDEO

Each month, we will explain the traditional names of the Full Moon along with some fascinating Moon facts. In this video, learn about the Full Worm Moon, Moon illusions, and when and why the Moon rides high or low in the sky. Click below to watch the video.

Below are the best days for activities based on the Moon’s sign and phase in March.

For Planting

  • Aboveground crops: 15, 16
  • Belowground crops: 5, 23, 24

For Setting Eggs

  • 21, 22, 29

For Fishing

  • 6–20

 

Special thanks to the Old Farmer's Almanac for continuing to be of great service to our communities around the world! For more information on the March Worm Moon, visit: https://www.almanac.com/content/full-moon-march#

 

 

Remember, be good to yourself!

 

Rashon Amiel Massey

Founder, Michigan Pharmacopeia® MICOPEIA®

 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published